In his 2011 memoir, The Garner Files, Garner wrote about the movie and his Great Escape co-stars. While he said that he was “good friends” with McQueen, the actor also claimed that McQueen could “be a pain in the [expletive] on set” and “wasn’t an actor,” but a “movie star.” And when it came to Bronson, who Garner did not consider a friend, he had particularly strong words. Read on to see what the late actor said about the iconic action star. RELATED: Harrison Ford Wouldn’t Make Eye Contact With This Co-Star, Reports Say. The Great Escape is a war movie about Allied soldiers who plan an escape from a German prisoner of war camp during World War II. It stars a number of popular actors from the early ’60s. At this point in his career, Garner had already starred in the series Maverick and appeared in a number of other TV shows and movies. Bronson had also been acting for years, appearing in many westerns, including The Magnificent Seven. In The Garner Files, Garner had a lot to say about Bronson, who died in 2003.ae0fcc31ae342fd3a1346ebb1f342fcb “Charlie Bronson was a pain in the [expletive], too,” he wrote. “He used and abused people, and I didn’t like it … He was a bitter, belligerent SOB. I don’t know why he had a chip on his shoulder. He wasn’t a barrel of laughs on the set, I can tell you.” RELATED: For more celebrity news delivered right to your inbox, sign up for our daily newsletter. In his memoir, Garner also wrote about Bronson taking part in a poker game at his house a year after they shot the movie. According to Garner, Bronson tried to withdraw a bet when it was too late, and because he was playing against a “street kid” who was working as an extra in Hollywood, Garner made Bronson pay him “probably no more than fifty bucks, because that money meant a lot to that kid.” He continued, “Charlie got upset and we got head-to-head, but it didn’t come to blows.” Garner said that Bronson then swore he’d never work with him again. “Throughout my life, there have been a few guys who didn’t like me because I was outspoken,” he wrote. “Hell, I never thought I was outspoken, I just told the truth.” Garner explained that, a few years later, he and his wife, Lois Clarke, ran into Bronson and his wife, Jill Ireland, at a restaurant. “Next thing I know the four of us are having dinner together,” Garner shared. “It was all so very pleasant. But I think Charlie held a grudge. I know I did.” RELATED: Kissing Marilyn Monroe Was “Awful,” Famous Co-Star Claimed.